Destinations

June 8, 2015

B003D0TAM8.01._SX490_SCLZZZZZZZ_V190274968_Tim Keller responds to those who believe the Bible either allows or supports homosexuality. What he has to say is helpful as believers will no doubt face continued attacks on what used to be the assumed position of scripture.

What is the deal with gay marriage advocates? Why are they so militant? David Murray suggests that their agenda is about validation and recognition. I couldn’t agree more. It is an effort to convince themselves and others that their behavior is OK.

Denny Burk weighs in on whether he/she should be referred to as Caitlyn or Bruce. Should we accommodate transgender naming? How can we be unoffensive and yet stand for the truth?

Don Whitney tells why he won’t bless the food.

Finally, here are three neglected aspects of Bible study.

5 Responses to “Destinations”

  1. Jim Kelly Says:

    When I finally got to section 4 and 5 I found myself in agreement with Mr.Keller, wasn’t sure before that. As far as Caitlyn or Bruce, guess if it happened that I would meet him, I would have to call him Bruce, because to me calling him Caitlyn would mean (to me) God made a mistake in making him Bruce, and Bruce wanted to correct it and I am condoning it by calling him Caitlyn. Also agree completely with “three neglected aspects of Bible study.

  2. Mark Says:

    I think I’d go with Bruce too.

  3. phfs9 Says:

    This is a really busy posting from P.M. So many interesting topics to click on! When I clicked on “Finally, here are three neglected aspects of Bible study” and read it I found it very interesting and (to me) in direct association with all the fuss over the “Caitlyn or Bruce” issues. The “Caitlyn or Bruce” issue has already received far more attention than it should. But, isn’t that just the way of our world to give more attention to sin than to goodness in all its Godly aspects. Yes, some attention to Mr. Jenner’s behavior is good as a teaching tool but personally I feel enough is enough. I think that Mr. Jenner is an un-Godly person by taking his sin to such extremes that he revels in the attention of his behavior. He is proud of his sin. I am so very sorry for people both male and female who have gender issues but acting on sin is devastating to the soul and when sin is pronounced as loudly as it too often is in a way that produces and demonstrates pride it teaches not only our young but people who are riding that fine line between learning and believing in God to become wary of God and put worth in sin. I have yet to hear or read about someone with gender issues take the many, many thousands of dollars it take to transform one’s God given body and use that money to feed the poor or pay some poor family’s medical bill for a child or the like. I could be mistaken but I don’t remember hearing Mr. Jenner make a single reference to God in all his problematic gender behavior issues. Where is God in all of this mess! I do not believe Mr. Jenner has given a single thought to what his behavior is doing to his relationship with God.

  4. Mark Says:

    I feel enough is enough too. I feel sorry for people with gender issues as well. If Mr Jenner believed in God he would think that God made a mistake. But, overall, I agree with you assessment that we’ve heard quite enough about the whole thing!


Leave a comment