The Holy Spirit as the Object of Worship

June 12, 2017

A while back I mentioned that I was going to work through “For the Glory of God.” It is a book on the Biblical Theology of worship. I must confess that I haven’t made much progress in the book. I’ve been reading–just not this book. In the author’s chapter on the object of worship I did come across some interesting thoughts on the Holy Spirit and worship. I think that these truths should cause us to at least think about how we pray to, and worship the Spirit.

“Remarkably, the doxologies (in the Bible) never ascribe praise, honor, glory, dominion, or power to the Holy Spirit.”

In the Bible … “No one addresses the Holy Spirit in prayer, or bows down to the Holy Spirit, or serves him in a liturgical gesture. Put simply, in the Bible the Spirit is never the object of worship.”

“However, it seems that the Holy Spirit is most honored when we accept his conviction of sin, his transforming and sanctifying work within us, and his guidance in life and ministry, and when in response to his leading we prostrate ourselves before Jesus.”

2 Responses to “The Holy Spirit as the Object of Worship”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    Interesting – my thoughts as I was reading your post is that I have never prayed to the Holy Spirit. I often use “Dear God” when I pray and most often when I do that I am reminded that the Father, Son and Holy Ghost are all one in the same. But, then I remember that only through Jesus…. So, I would supposed, in effect, when we pray to the Father or the Son we are also praying to the Holy Spirit….just as when I address my prayers to God I am praying to Jesus.

  2. Mark Says:

    Every now and then I hear someone pray to the Spirit. I certainly wouldn’t say it is heresy, yet it isn’t biblical. You are obviously dealing with the Trinity. One God, three persons. They are all the one (singular) God, however the Father is not the Son and the Son is not the Spirit and the Sprit is not the Father.


Leave a Reply

