What is Biblical Worship?

May 2, 2017

Recently, through no intention of my own, I’ve been grappling with the question of Biblical worship. This has happened because of a recently preached on text (Hebrews 12:28-29) and Sunday evening conversations dealing with a Ligonier Study called “Dust to Glory.” Also, our family recently attended an Easter service at a very evangelical church where beach balls were tossed during the sermon time. Along with the use of piñatas and other very out of place implements this service was completely out of the box for me.  These experiences have created a personal sense of intellectual vertigo. I feel confident about most of my theological positions, however, I’m not as grounded in the theology of worship as I should be. I can criticize, but I really don’t have the Biblical ammunition to be completely honest. Given that I “virtually” hang with Anglicans, Lutherans, Presbyterians and Baptists, I’m typically surrounded by people whose worship preferences range from those who hold to exclusive psalmody sung a cappella all the way to those who think beach balls are fine during worship.

To rectify my ignorance, I pulled a book off the shelf that I think will help orient me to the Biblical landscape of worship. It is called, For the Glory of God: Recovering a Biblical Theology of Worshipby Daniel Block. If you’d like an edifying sneak peak into what I’ll be reading, watch to the video below. I think you will find it both stimulating and challenging.

3 Responses to “What is Biblical Worship?”


  1. I took a winterim class with Dr. Block a number of years ago. It was very interesting and helpful.


Leave a Reply

