How’s Your Serve?

September 14, 2016

This morning on my yearly trek through the Bible I read Matthew 25. While reading the Sheep and the Goats passage of Matthew 25 I couldn’t help but think of its connection with the sermon passage last Sunday (Hebrews 6:9-12), where the text in describing things that accompany salvation (9) mentions, “the love that you have shown for his name in serving the saints” (10). The truth of the passage is clear: saved people love God’s name and this love is expressed in serving the saints.

The Sheep and the Goats passage is scary. Those who enter eternal life (25:46) are those who serve Jesus. Jesus says in Mt. 25:35-36 “For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.” The “righteous” are stunned by this statement. They ask (37), “When did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you a drink?” Then Jesus said (40), “Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.” So, in this passage the sign of eternal life is meeting the needs of Jesus’ brothers, particularly the “least” of Jesus brothers.

This begs the question, who are Jesus’ brothers? Jesus in Mt. 12:50 says, “For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.” Putting all of this together, we might ask, what is one of the indications of salvation? Answer: we will serve the saints, Jesus’ family. We are saved by grace through faith, however, a key sign of life is that we will serve our brothers and sisters in Christ.

You see, if we love Jesus we will love what he loves. He loves the church. Therefore we will too. We will love no matter how needy, how broken, how irritating, and how reckless our brothers and sisters might be. We will love our brothers and sisters.

Leave a Reply

