All Creatures of Our God and King

April 5, 2016

I grew up in a hymn singing church. Of course, I’m old, but for the most part we didn’t sing trite ditties. No Kumbaya. This is a blessing and a curse. There are hymns I adore that are never sung anymore (think Jesus, I Am Resting, Resting or The Sands of Time are Sinking). I morn their passing. The blessing is that they still play in my head reminding me of their rich theology.

One song we didn’t sing was All Creatures of Our God and King. I didn’t sing it until I was in seminary. After I sang it I went home and told Deb that I want it sung at my funeral. It was written by Francis of Assisi in the thirteenth century. At this past Shepherds’ Conference we starting singing it, and I noticed that there were two different verses. I love the new verses since they are about Jesus. So here is the Norton Hall Band from Boyce College singing the new version. The words of the hymn follow. This rendition adds the Doxology at the end. I trust that you will be blessed.

Verse 1

All creatures of our God and King Lift up your voice and with us sing O praise Him
Alleluia Thou burning sun with golden beam Thou silver moon with softer gleam

O praise Him O praise Him
Alleluia alleluia alleluia

Verse 2

Let all things their Creator bless And worship Him in humbleness O praise Him
Alleluia Praise praise the Father praise the Son And praise the Spirit Three-in-One

O praise Him O praise Him
Alleluia alleluia alleluia

Verse 3

All the redeemed washed by His blood Come and rejoice in His great love
O praise Him Alleluia

Christ has defeated every sin Cast all your burdens now on Him O praise Him O praise Him Alleluia alleluia alleluia

Verse 4

He shall return in pow’r to reign Heaven and earth will join to say O praise Him
Alleluia Then who shall fall on bended knee All creatures of our God and King

O praise Him O praise Him Alleluia alleluia O praise Him O praise Him Alleluia alleluia alleluia

Leave a Reply

