At Our Best, We Barely Believe

July 18, 2014

I appreciated this reminder by Ray Ortlund about how God is determined to bless us:

God: “I am your God. You are my people. I will bless you.”

Sinners: “But at our best, we barely believe you.”

God: “True. But I will bless you.”

Sinners: “But we don’t deserve you.”

God: “More than you know! But I will bless you.”

Sinners: “But we don’t live up to this. We’re cowards.”

God: “You are. But I will bless you.”

Sinners: “But we’re so entrenched in this world, we’ll never change.”

God: “Not true. You are Zion, the eternal city of God. I will bless you accordingly, and everything will change.”

— Ray Ortlund

2 Responses to “At Our Best, We Barely Believe”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    This was written simply and was a good daily reminder until I reached the last 2 lines and then my brain started sparking. So, I found a good definition of Zion and it made such a difference in how I applied what I was reading:

    Definition of Zion (n)

    place of Christian life and worship: in Christian belief, the place where God lives and is worshiped on Earth or in the kingdom of heaven

  2. Mark Says:

    I like your definition. Mt. Zion, of course, is a reference to Jerusalem and the Temple Mount. Zion is the place where God’s people meet. It is Jerusalem. Put differently, we are Zion.


Leave a Reply

