I Surrender All

June 4, 2014

I personally have trouble with a song that makes me lie. I Surender All is one of those hymns. Blessed Assurance is another one. The chorus of Fanny Crosby’s famous hymn goes like this, “Perfect submission, perfect delight, Visions of rapture now burst on my sight; Angels, descending, bring from above Echoes of mercy, whispers of love.” “Perfect submission, perfect delight”? I can’t sing those words with any degree of honesty. Typically, the hymns that are laden with this theological perspective are from the Keswick Movement. Some of you might be arguing with what I’m saying. Zac Hicks grapples with the song “I Surrender All,” and offers a rework that focuses on the work of Jesus, instead of my work. For me personally, songs about God work better for worship than songs about me.

3 Responses to “I Surrender All”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    “I wish I could say ‘I surrender all’ to Jesus, but I’m grateful that I can say ‘Jesus surrendered all for me’”?

    I can easily see the difference – those who endeavor to make Christianity the center of their lives can easily become engulfed in the thought that we can over come sin….thus the belief we can “surrender all”. In the first place, we are all helpless without Jesus. Add to that we are all born in sin and die in sin. The mind set that we could possibly “surrender all” has never entered my mind during my Christian walk. Since it is impossible for us to avoid sin 100% we can never be capable of “surrendering all.”

    There are those Christians in my life I admire very much and I try not to put them on a pedestal and remember they may have more Christian/Bible knowledge than I do, they may have a stronger Christian heart than I do….but they are just like me….human and born in and die in sin. In my humble opinion is that it is impossible for a human to “surrender all” no matter how much we would love to be able to do that for the love of our sweet Lord.


  2. Thanks for sharing. Thought provoking read. Feel free to share your inspirational posts at Godinterest (the Pinterest for Christians).


Leave a Reply

