Home At Last

May 22, 2014

Yesterday Al Roberts transitioned into glory soon after failing to negotiate a turn on Highway 36 in the area of Basler Road. Al is now in the presence of his dear Savior. I know, based on Philippians 1:23, Al is in a “far better” place. Not only has he escaped the experience of sin and the frustrations of life, but he is in the glorious presence of Jesus. While I rejoice for him, I grieve for his wife, Kathy, and all his many friends. I track with the men who buried Stephen in Acts 8 who “made great lamentation over him.” Personally, I lament Al’s home going.

Al’s death makes Jesus all the more precious to me, and I trust to you. This old world is overwhelmingly deadly. I’m looking forward to the new world, the new heavens and the new earth. We’ll then have bodies that won’t die and spirits  that won’t sin. We’ll laugh, play, work and feast forever. The greatest joy will be the feast of Jesus’ presence. “What a day, glorious day, that will be.”

One of my favorite hymns is “The Sands of Time  Are Sinking.” My favorite verse of that many versed hymn is this one:

The Bride eyes not her garment, but her dear Bridegroom’s face;
I will not gaze at glory but on my King of grace.
Not at the crown He giveth but on His pierced hand;
The Lamb is all the glory of Immanuel’s land.

  Right now Al is eyeing his “dear Bridegroom’s face,” he is gazing on his “king of grace.” And for that I’m envious.

2 Responses to “Home At Last”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    I have 3 Christian mentors in my life. Al was one of them. While I applaud his destination, I selfishly grieve his absence here on earth. He was loved by many and he loved many in return. I cannot begin to imagine the grief and pain his wife and family are experiencing. I pray God will ease their pain and reveal to them the joy of Al’s destination in Heaven. Thank you God for the time you gave me to enjoy Al’s mentoring, friendship and love. He walked with you on earth and ended up in your arms in Heaven.


Leave a Reply

