Destinations

February 25, 2014

B003D0TAM8.01._SX490_SCLZZZZZZZ_V190274968_How do we determine what God’s will for our lives is? Should I buy Crest or Colgate? Should we move or stay? I don’t think God is going to tell us. Follow God’s revealed will, seek wisdom, and act. Paul Tripp helps his readers unpack this important issue.

The “Jesus Calling” devotional is a huge success right now. If you are at all tempted to use this book, please read this first. It strikes me as a Neale Donald Walsh type book for Christians. We have the “Daily Bread” in our foyer. Spurgeon’s “Morning and Evening” is exquisite. Right now I’m using the “The Mockingbird Devotional.” It too has a great gospel focus. These are all very good resources if you are hunting for a devotional.

Speaking of devotions, Erik Raymond offers some suggestions about how to mine truth from God’s word.

I recently linked to a post on tithing. Here Ray Ortlund weighs in on the issue. I always appreciate what Ray writes.

 

 

One Response to “Destinations”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    I started a home Bible study with my cousin in Dallas, TX via email in 2013 – at her behest. Her book of choice was “Jesus Calling.” While I am not posting to judge the author or the Biblical correctness of the content of the book, I will say I did not find it challenging for my level of Christian education. It seemed too simple and I lost interest in it very quickly. I also read “Daily Bread” and I particularly prefer it to “Jesus Calling.” Each day what I read in “Jesus Calling” left me with this feeling of “…..is that all there is?” “Daily Bread” just seems a bit more in depth to start off my day or end my evening than “Jesus Calling” was………in my humble and personal opinion.


Leave a Reply

