Duck Dynasty Post-Mortem

December 20, 2013

I think that most believers had to know that it was only a matter of time until Duck Dynasty would go away. Our culture will not tolerate Jesus or his followers. Shortly, Jay Leno and his ilk will make Phil Robertson the fodder of his jokes. He will be made to look like a caveman with an IQ barely above a plant. It is interesting that A&E’s focus was on Phil’s homosexual remarks and not his comments about his understanding of how Blacks were treated as he was growing up in the South. In our culture you can be crass and crude but you had better not say that you think homosexuality is a sin. Where do believers go from here? First, I appreciate Doug Wilson’s take on the whole thing. He affirms that what happened will happen in our culture. He also appreciates Phil’s simple stand on scripture. Second, Denny Burk, in a balanced way, writes about what Phil did both right and wrong.

5 Responses to “Duck Dynasty Post-Mortem”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    Vivian Louisiana, where Phil was raised, borders Texas….very outback type country living there when I was kid and probably is still that way to some degree. It is a far cry from the southern tip of Louisiana in the New Orleans area. I was raised in New Orleans and I can tell you there were no black people there singing and being happy as Phil stated blacks in his area were. As a child in grade school I witnessed black people being treated like less than animals. It reminds me today of how Lazarus was treated….less than human. I don’t know where Phil’s comments on the black population came from.

    I have not seen a video of Phil’s comments and have been able to only read about his comments. As far as I can discern from his anti-gay comments I feel he followed the rule of “love the sinner – hate the sin”. I think the entire issues surrounding Phil’s anti-gay comments is exploded out of proportion. There has been much, much worse said by people in positions way above Phil’s in life and very little public exposure of it. It seems unfair to pick on Phil and use him as an example for anti-gay slurs and makes me wonder if the Robertson family contract negotiations with A & E had anything to do with blowing this whole affair out of proportion.

    Why is it that any atheist in American can have their way and their public say while us Christians must remain silent and be denied our lawful rights…..as if I didn’t know the answer to that one!

  2. Mark Says:

    I agree with what you wrote about the whole anti-gay thing. I can’t image where it is all going.

    Before I read your comments, I asked Deb if she ever witnessed Blacks being mistreated in central Virginia as she was growing up. She said she never saw them mistreated. However life in Virginia in the 60s was probably different from life in the Deep South, even if it was the capitol of the Confederacy.

  3. phfs9 Says:

    I think Louisiana and Mississippi topped the list for poor treatment of American blacks. Here is an example: A test was done on young black men giving them syphilis injections to see if their body would react differently than a white man. All of them died and all were denied any pain med’s or health treatment of any kind during this medical trial. Is that not the most barbaric thing you have ever heard next to the KKK’s treatment of American blacks!

    I used to watch the blacks in Louisiana crowd into standing room only without seating in the back 1/3 of a public bus after working all day on their feet while the front 2/3’s of the bus was empty except for my mother, myself and one other white lady. I made the mistake of asking my mother why they could not come to sit. I was backhanded across the face falling on the floor of the bus.

    They received food from a little 12 x12 window and were not allowed inside to order, eat or receive food. There were only a few items on the menu they were allowed to order.

    This is only the tip of the iceberg that I witnessed as a child and throughout my teen and young adult years. But, God had enough of it and it certainly did come to a screeching halt. The little slurs we hear today are nothing compared to how the blacks were treated physically back in my day.

  4. Mark Says:

    What is interesting about the Phil thing is that the racial comments hardly registered a blip. By far, the big issue was homosexuality.


Leave a Reply

