Destinations

December 3, 2013

B003D0TAM8.01._SX490_SCLZZZZZZZ_V190274968_There is lots of good stuff to pass on this morning:

You might have heard about Kirsten Powers conversion to Christianity. Here is an interview with her concerning her journey to faith.

Also, you might have heard recently of the new pastor who dressed as a homeless man the first Sunday at his new church. Supposedly, he wasn’t treated well by the people in the church. As you might have guessed, this whole thing is a hoax.

Bowman is a small church. Here is an encouragement about what small churches can do.

You might have heard, Rick Warren has a new diet book out. As might be expected, the reviews are starting to emerge. Challies seems to give it a marginal thumbs up, while Riddlebarger asks why Rick should be telling us to eat kale. His dander is definitely up.

If you like thinking about the interface between science and scripture (or if you have children who do), then you might pick up “A Reformed Approach to Science and Scripture.” It is free today for Kindle. Also, “Marriage Matters: Extraordinary Change Through Ordinary Moments” is free for Nook and Kindle. Both of these books look valuable.

I remember reading as a freshman in high school these words: “According as he hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before him, in love having predestinated us unto the adoption of sons by jesus Christ to himself, according to the good pleasure of his will” (Eph 1:4-5). This sentence from that moment has shaped the contours of my theology. Being a simple guy, I took the sentence at face value. It made sense to me. I’m in the family of God SIMPLY because God chose me; not because I chose him. Given the fact that I was born a spiritual corpse, it made sense to me that God raised me from the dead. Like with Lazarus, he gave me spiritual life and enabled me to believe. Thus God gets all the glory. Granted, I believed, but it was only because of God’s prior work of regeneration. God didn’t saved me against my will. He graciously changed my will by giving me spiritual life. Because of regeneration, I now run to God, not away from him. The Lord is my salvation. He didn’t merely make salvation possible, he actually saved me. Again, to God be the glory. Chloe alerted me to the video below. Given my Calvinistic bent, I so appreciate this poem by John Piper:

Leave a Reply

