Strange Fire #2

November 16, 2013

Of course, almost as soon as I click “publish” on my blog I discover that someone has continued the conversation somewhere else. John Piper has a post where he responds to the conference and what was said. As might be expected, his response is biblical as he responds to his differences and agreements with MacArthur.

Perhaps at some point in the future I will provide a biblical distillation of my views. While Piper does make a compelling biblical case, I would still suggest that the idea of testing the prophets does not necessarily mean that legitimate New Testament prophets were ever in error. Why not simply see that error was an indication that a prophet wasn’t a true prophet?

As I said earlier, in practice John Piper and I would be very similar. The difference is that he leaves a door open that I’d rather leave shut.

Leave a Reply

