Destinations

November 15, 2013

Ann Voskamp writes about the real truth concerning boring men. I think I fit that category.

Continuing with the marriage theme, how about “Gospel-Centered Sex?” Husbands and wives both need to read this.

This month Crossway is giving away their web version of the ESV Study Bible. In my not so humble opinion, I think this is the best study Bible on the market. I have the Reformation Study Bible and find it valuable. However, the ESV Study Bible has much more extensive notes.

What does it mean to be gospel-centered?

5 Responses to “Destinations”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    I noticed in the video that John Piper was so energetic about his opinions and he seemed so happy to present his points. Encouraging. Max Lucado is one of my favorites.

    Ann Voskamp’s article was absolutely right on…great article.

    The Gospel-Centered Sex article I have read and heard many times in many books or by many speakers on the same topics in that article. Maybe it is my age but it didn’t grasp me. It is a good article – don’t get me wrong on my comments. I have already taken it all to heart and mind many times. I have a friend in Redding who is constantly in turmoil with her companion. Always about petty things but a ton of petty things at a time. I asked her one day if she remembered why they got married in the first place and that didn’t have a question mark behind it. She carried that remark over to her hubbie but with a question mark. I do remember regularly why my hubbie and I got married and why we have stayed married.

    So, Mark thinks he is boring. Well my hubbie also thinks he is boring. But, I don’t. He does so many tiny little things for me without saying a word. He only endears himself to me with each tiny little thing he does. ex. I am sitting at the computer typing his contracts often after 9pm and he sees I am a little chilly. Without a word he goes downstairs, gets me a sweater and puts it in my lap or on my shoulders. Who could ask for more! There are some things in life that are better than physical intimacy between a husband and wife – in my personal opinion. Psychological intimacy is wonderful. That’s the place you go when you are old and grey and all your joints hurt.

  2. Mark Says:

    Mark is boring. He really doesn’t even cook. The thing about life is that most of it is so routine. Then there are some of us who are really love routine. Other people’s routine is boring. For me it works. This is beside the point. I appreciate what you have to say about Bryan. You have eyes to see his love and compassion. You are a rarity. Most people see what is wrong rather than what is right.

  3. phfs9 Says:

    I was going to leave it alone and of course it just bugged me to comment one more time. That’s me – I’m a just one more time person. Bryan doesn’t cook either. He says he can and has said that since the day I met him. But, he isn’t going to do it because if he does then he misses my cooking which he loves. He doesn’t verbally tell me he likes my cooking. I just watch him totally enjoy and devour it.

    Point – the things we are good at with our companions is what they tend to love about us. As petty as the little things we do for love of our companion may be, if we didn’t do them “my how they would miss them” and immediately feel something is wrong. Routine has its place in life and routine does not make a person boring.

    I think what God wants between two companions in a marriage relationship is communication and a loving glance or touch more than anything else. He wants each companion to feel and know they are loved by the other. To me if you have that any other issues can be worked out between you. Trust and love between a married couple is paramount to a long lasting relationship.

    Somehow, I just don’t think Debbie would agree that she finds Mark boring. I could be wrong but I would be very surprised if I were.

    All of this is just my humble opinion and is written no place in the Bible specifically that I can find.

  4. Mark Says:

    I agree with what you say about marriage. There are some guys in our church who are really good cooks. Part of the problem for me is that Debbie is so neat and I’m such a slob. I hate messing her kitchen up. I need an outside kitchen.

    We’ll not ask her if she thinks Mark is boring. For the most part, if he is metaphorically fed and watered, he’s pretty happy.

  5. phfs9 Says:

    Haaaa! Love your sense of humor!


Leave a Reply

