Keller – Why We Lie

August 22, 2013

I appreciate Timothy Keller’s honesty in this clip. He explains why he and his wife, Kathy, lie. We lie because we don’t trust God. Of course, this is the root of all our sin.

3 Responses to “Keller – Why We Lie”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    That was great to listen to and I did enjoy it (and basically agree with it). There was only one part I did not agree with and that was when the speaker said that after a couple has been together for a long period of time they become part of the wood work to each other. Bryan and I have been together almost 25 years now and we are by no means that estranged from each other. In fact, I would have to say that even through the hard times (or especially through the hard times) these days we are thankful to have each other. We actually have grown closer, kinder and more considerate to each other over the years.

  2. Markark Says:

    You have to understand that I’m a Keller fan. I tend to defend him. I think what he was saying is that after you have been married decades you don’t work as hard to hide your sins. He and Kathy don’t try to hide the fact that they will lie to get what they want.

    • phfs9 Says:

      I think perhaps I either did not word my comment correctly or you may have misunderstood my point. I did indeed enjoy and agree with his message. No debate there. And perhaps he made the comment he did about long term couples becoming part of the wood work as partially humor or to set the stage for his message. I do not discount those ideas. But, you can’t cubby hole all couples and “seriously” contend they are all the same and they all become part of the wood work to each other or react to lies the same way. Perhaps I took his words too literally.


Leave a Reply

