Destinations

July 26, 2013

B003D0TAM8.01._SX490_SCLZZZZZZZ_V190274968_Once again, there is so much good stuff on the internet that I feel compelled to pass some of it on.

Here is a helpful piece on what the word law typically means in the New Testament. Understanding what is being said is vital to accurately unpacking the New Covenant.

Every read “The Screwtape Letters“? Here are 31 single sentence summaries of each chapter. This is a great way to quickly digest/remember Lewis’ thought in the book.

In The More Things Change, The More They Stay The Same department, here is a fascinating look at Alexander Hamilton’s adultery and apology. Be sure to read the last paragraph.

I don’t often recommend articles from Guideposts. That said, this one is too good to miss. Sometimes God’s surprises are breathtaking.

From the When Life Gives You Lemons Make Lemonade Department:

6 Responses to “Destinations”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    Okay – what did I miss? Here’s the last paragraph:
    Hamilton’s fate, of course, is well-known, though in a way the Reynolds affair followed him to his last day. Some time before the publication of his pamphlet, Hamilton’s former mistress Maria Reynolds sued her husband for divorce. The attorney that guided her through that process was Aaron Burr.

    Read more: http://blogs.smithsonianmag.com/history/2013/07/alexander-hamiltons-adultery-and-apology/#ixzz2ehsYq5I1
    Follow us: @SmithsonianMag on Twitter

    • Mark Says:

      Remember Aaron Burr killed Hamilton in a duel. It is just an odd quirk that his mistress’ attorney ended up killing him.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • phfs9 Says:

        Well double duhh on me. I read both points you mentioned but I was soooo concentrating on some intense Biblical message or lesson from you that I just decided I missed it – when all the time it was simple and easy and right there in front of my face. I actually laughed when I read the attorney’s name…. and still was feeling I wasn’t getting your Biblical message so I thought I had missed it.

  2. phfs9 Says:

    Well the Rod Stewart article was just about fun to read. Thanks for posting that one.

  3. phfs9 Says:

    Great video! One man’s trash……….is another’s treasure.

  4. Mark Says:

    I love the odd quirks of history. Truth is stranger than fiction at times.


Leave a Reply

