Virtual Vs. Visual

July 18, 2013

While I appreciate Apple gadgets, I think their latest ad is way over the top, so much so that the commercial is laughable. The company is taking itself way too seriously. Mike Leake uses this commercial to highlight the temptation to be disengaged because of distraction through technology. Years ago, Debbie and I were eating lunch. I was busy reading a magazine (old technology, I know) that had just arrived in the mail. She commented that she thought it was inappropriate to read through a meal while in the presence of a family member. She was right.

Along these same lines, I appreciated this article from several years ago by Tim Challies. I think it highlights some of the new temptations we are facing in our technologically saturated age.

Leave a Reply

