Let Worldly Minds The World Pursue

June 12, 2013

I ran across this old John Newton hymn (“Let Worldly Minds the World Pursue”) that almost no one seems to do. I love the message:

Let worldly minds the world pursue, It has no charms for me. Once I admired its trifles too, But grace has set me free.

Its pleasures now no longer please, No more content afford; Far from my heart be joys like these, Now I have seen the Lord.

As by the light of opening day The stars are all concealed, So earthly pleasures fade away, When Jesus is revealed.

Creatures no more divide my choice, I bid them all depart. His name, and love, and gracious voice Have fixed my roving heart.

Here is a beautiful rendition of the song’s tune (through some technological wizardry the same guy plays both instruments):

Leave a Reply

