Destinations

January 9, 2013

B003D0TAM8.01._SX490_SCLZZZZZZZ_V190274968_Here is a very helpful piece on the key to a strong marriage. If you are married, this reminder will be valuable.

Ray Ortlund grapples with what Jesus meant when he told Peter, “Get behind me Satan.” Also, he writes about how this rebuke might look in our lives.

But Jesus can see that the reasonable “things of man” and the horrible “things of Satan” are both opposed to the redemptive “things of God,” so diametrically opposed that “the things of man” can serve “the things of Satan.” …

Any time you and I reject the cross and, in effect, rebuke our Lord for choosing that path for himself and us, can we be sure what influence will come out of our mouths next, even if we have also served as voices for God?

It took me most of my life to appreciate poetry. I always wondered why people didn’t just say what they meant. Some of you are way ahead of me here, but I finally realized that somethings just can’t be said with prose. Ray Ortlund’s son, Dane, quoting some of the masters (Lewis et al.), writes about the purpose of poetry.

One Response to “Destinations”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    Wow! What a great article by Ray Ortlund. Totally enjoyed it.

    I say that all the time – “Get behind me Satan. I always have felt it meant I was asking for God’s protection and influence. After reading Ray Ortlund’s article perhaps I am right.


Leave a Reply

