Destinations

November 9, 2012

After watching Fox News’ predictions Monday night about Romney’s big win, I came to the conclusion on Tuesday that they were either lying or mental poached eggs. I seldom ever watch Fox (or any news channel) and now I’m not sure I’ll ever go back. Ed Stetzer reminds us that all news organizations have biases. If we don’t keep this in mind, we will be disappointed. Perhaps more important, believers themselves end up with compromised reputations by believing and their biases.

The truth is that I enjoy Fox News. I’ve watched Huckabee for awhile, since spending some time with him a few years back. And, since O’Reilly and I grew up in the same hometown, I confess a certain appreciation for his banter. However, if you love Fox News more than you love facts, it undermines your credibility, and I think that is evident in the discussion all over the media today. I’m saddened that many Christians are being included in the groups that “create their own facts.”

Here is a thoughtful piece on abortion. I know most of us would like for the practice to be outlawed (I do). Yet, we realize that if this happens, many people’s lives will be, at the very least, disrupted. We can now come alongside those who might be considering an abortion and help meet their needs. We can help save lives now.

If you are a Christian, be patient with those who view things differently than you. But don’t just be patient, speak truth in love to those who are in need. Find ways to help those who are struggling through unplanned pregnancies. Investigate options for adoption and invest in the lives of those who are facing difficult choices.

Dane Ortlund quoting Francis Schaeffer reminds us of the way back to God when we sin.

Schaeffer:

Let us say that I have been living in the light of what God has been giving us for the present life. As a born-again child of God, I have been practicing the reality of true spirituality, as Christ has purchased it for us.

And then sin reenters.

For some reason my moment-by-moment belief in God falters–a fondness for some specific sin has caused me at that point not to draw in faith upon the fact of a restored relationship with the Trinity. The reality of the practice of true spirituality suddenly slips from me. I look up some morning, some afternoon, some night–and something is gone, something I have known: my quietness and my peace are gone. It is not that I am lost again, because justification is once for all. But . . . there is no exhibition of the victory of Christ upon the cross. Looking at me at this point, men would see no demonstration that God’s creation of moral rational creatures is not a complete failure, or even that God exists. . . .

At this point a question must arise: Is there a way back? Or is it like a fine Bavarian porcelain cup, dropped to a tile floor so that it is smashed beyond repair?

Thank God, the gospel includes this. The Bible is always realistic; it is not romantic, but deals with realism–with what I am. There is a way back, and the basis of the way back is nothing new to us. The basis is again the blood of Christ, the finished work of the Lamb of God: the once-for-all completed work of Christ upon the cross, in space, time, and history.

–Francis Schaeffer, True Spirituality (Tyndale House, 2011), 86-87; italics original

One Response to “Destinations”

  1. Flyaway Says:

    With the election of a Democrat president society is calling the killing of unborn babies good and same sex marriage good. If a Republican president had been elected what would society have called good that was not good?


Leave a Reply

