Destinations

October 19, 2012

You might have heard, after Romney’s chat with Billy Graham, Billy’s illustrious evangelistic organization removed Mormonism from its list of cults. I appreciate Billy’s life and ministry. But this? For a potential president? It really isn’t in my nature to pick on people but I am amazed at this one. In fact, I could easily transition into a rant, but I won’t. “What does is profit an institution if it help elect a president but …”

Here is a reminder that true contentment never comes from great circumstances. We need to be reminded of this.

The good in this world, as beautiful and lovely as it sometimes can be, was never meant to sustain a heart of true contentment. Only Christ Himself can do that.

We’d all say that while prayer, the presenting of our requests to the omnipotent, loving God, should be easy; it isn’t. John Calvin offers “rules” that help shape and motivate prayer.

One thing I heard Jerry Falwell say over and over again is, “Everything rises and falls on leadership.” There is a lot of truth in this sentence. Bowman needs more leaders. David Murray uses a mountain climbing illustration to teach leadership.

Joe Thorn weighs in on the cure for backsliding. We all backslide from time to time.

The cure for a backslidden state is not “letting go and letting God,” nor is it found in our own recommitment to the Lord. The cure for our condition is the Lord Jesus himself. He is the Good Shepherd who restores the soul.

My Dad in this past has expressed his disdain for Facebook. He doesn’t like the way Facebook uses our information. He is also not sure what they will do in the future. But how about Google? For me personally, they have more of my info than Facebook. Anyway, here is a look at Google’s data centers. Amazing. Where have I seen this color scheme?

One Response to “Destinations”

  1. Flyaway Says:

    I agree with your dad. I got off Facebook. I don’t use Google either. I use Bing.


Leave a Reply

