Destinations

September 12, 2012

I love my girls but I’d often harass them about how they would throw. They’d hear, “You throw like a girl.” Here’s an interesting piece about the throwing gap. Of course, the problem goes away when you use a frisbee instead of a ball.

Go to the local Christian bookshop and you will find many books that attempt to link what is happening in the news to Bible prophecy. I, for one, loathe this stuff. My bookshelves sag under the weight of these worthless tomes that become quickly out of date following the next president/disaster/war. Randy Alcorn expresses much the same thought.

Here’s some advice for the woman who struggles with the idea of hospitality. Here is the summary:

So go on, de-clutter if you need to. Or embrace the clutter and use your imperfect home to comfort imperfect people. God’s Truth is that our homes are on loan and should be used to bless others. Embracing this truth is the best cure for the Can’t-Have-People-Over Syndrome.

Arguing cogently and fairly can be a tricky proposition. What works on the fly in our heads might not actually lead to an understanding of the truth. Justin Taylor unpacks a Mike Horton piece about avoiding logical fallacies. Now, if I can just remember this stuff.

Mark Altrogge talks about what to do when we don’t have a desire to obey God. This is a followup to the piece I pointed to on Monday about not having to sin. Confess, pray, step out in faith.

Steven Lawson’s “The Unwavering Resolve of Jonathan Edwards” is $0.99 for Kindle.

I must confess that I didn’t watch any of the political conventions this year. Not one minute. I’m such a cynic when it comes to politics. I do think that politics is important, I just don’t have the stomach for all the corny self-promotion. It is embarrassing. It’s like watching a mocumentary like The Office. I have heard that the Dems were jumping up and down on the pro-choice drum. Even Cokie Roberts, who isn’t in any way conservative, said, “I think this Democratic Convention was really over-the-top in terms of abortion. Every single speaker talked about abortion. At some point, you start to alienate people. Thirty percent of Democrats are pro-life.”

Keeping in mind my confessed ignorance, let me post what I think had to be the high point of the DNC. It is the closing prayer by Cardinal Timothy Dolan. What were they thinking letting a Roman Catholic pray?

Leave a Reply

