Spurgeon on Bible Reading

August 24, 2012

“Most people treat the Bible very politely. They have a small pocket volume, neatly bound;…when they get home, they lay it up in a drawer till next Sunday morning; then it comes out again for a little bit of a treat, and goes to chapel; that is all the poor Bible gets in the way of an airing. That is your style of entertaining this heavenly messenger. There is enough dust on some of your Bibles to write ‘damnation’ with your fingers. There are some of you who have not turned over your Bibles for a long, long while, and what think you? I tell you blunt words, but true words. What will God say at last? When you shall come before him, he shall say, “Did you read my Bible?” “No.” “I wrote you a letter of mercy; did you read it?” “No.” ”Rebel! I have sent thee a letter inviting thee to me; didst thou ever read it?” “Lord, I never broke the seal; I kept it shut up.” ”Wretch!” says God, “then, thou deservest hell, if I sent thee a loving epistle, and thou wouldst not even break the seal; what shall I do unto thee?” Oh, let it not be so with you. Be Bible-readers; be Bible-searchers.”

C. H. Spurgeon

3 Responses to “Spurgeon on Bible Reading”

  1. ancientcures Says:

    This a good word, for how will we know GOD if we do not read HIS Word to us?


  2. I have an ODB app on my phone now as well as the bible, so I am finding it much easier to turn to when I have a moment here and there. Never thought I would turn to ebooks, but as I love to read, I love having books (especially His word) with me at all times.


Leave a Reply

