Destinations

July 17, 2012

In this piece Jim Hamilton tackles the issue of motherhood from the perspective of Biblical Theology. It should be an interesting read.

Along those same lines, Al Mohler interacts with Richard Louv’s “Last Child in the Woods.” Louv in his book contends that children don’t play outside any more. They are only happy when there is an electrical socket nearby. I must confess I haven’t thought a great deal about this issue. I’ve observed it; I haven’t reflected much about it. My Mom during the summer would essentially kick my siblings and me out of the house on Saturdays and during the summer. “Don’t come back until it’s dinner time.” This to say I might be biased. I don’t understand the mindset of a child who would rather play in an artificial world than the real world. What do you think? Here’s a quote:

Is contact with nature necessary for healthy childhood? Louv is absolutely confident that children have a deep need for contact with the natural world and its wonders. “Unlike television, nature does not steal time; it amplifies it,” Louv insists. In his view, “whatever shape nature takes, it offers each child an older, larger world separate from parents.” The natural world offers children an opportunity to think, dream, touch, and play out fantasies about how he or she imagines the world. Nature brings a capacity for wonder and a connection with something real that is endlessly fascinating and largely outside human control.

Here are Tim Keller’s 10 helpful ways to evangelize. I realize I’ve linked to these 10 suggestions before but I think they are worth thinking about again.

Finally, here one can find links to a free Piper book called “Sanctification in the Everyday.”

Leave a Reply

