I’m Hungry Pt. 2

May 15, 2012

Yesterday I wrote about our quest for glory, for an encounter with beauty. All of life is about this search for greatness, glory, and beauty. We look for it in the places we visit, the food we eat, and the entertainment we consume (great music, literature, or films). It is in the presence of greatness that we are most satisfied, and at the same time, least self-aware. Life is best when we are lost in the greatness and glory of something outside ourselves.

This quest for glory, greatness, and beauty is really a quest for God. Even a great place will bore us if we stay there long enough. The exquisite meal can seem like a PBJ if consumed regularly enough. This, of course, is where God comes in. Given that he is infinite, we will never get to the end of his greatness. In eternity we’ll never have a boring day.

John the Apostle is known as the disciple whom Jesus loved. He was very close to Jesus and knew him as well as any human could. He witnessed the transfigured Jesus. In other words, when the curtain veiling his glory was pulled back, John was there in the light brighter than the sun (Mt 17:2). Yet, when John saw Jesus in his vision in the book of Revelation, John “fell at his feet as though dead” (Revelation 1:17). John was ill equipped to encounter Jesus’ glory. This is the all-satisfying glory I’m looking for. This is what your soul craves as well. I can’t wait.

7 Responses to “I’m Hungry Pt. 2”

  1. junew2011 Says:

    This took me back to Psalm 145, today’s Daily Bread reading. So filled with things to praise God for. Verse 3: “Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; and His greatness is unsearchable.”

  2. tjkids Says:

    Well said, my brother! The older I get, the less satisfied I am with anything here. Although there are still many joys and even sweet contentment, I find my heart looking toward the horizon more and more often.

    • Mark Says:

      Yep. Sorry I wasn’t in the office this morning. Sometimes it is more convenient to do some visiting after I drop Hannah off in the mornings. Hope you two are thriving.

  3. Carolyn Says:

    I am reminded of C.S. Lewis’s autobiography, Surprised by Joy, in which he discusses not his lovely wife Joy who came later but the joy of knowing our Lord.Being an avid reader of literature, Lewis traced God’s wooing of him back through the literature that hinted with glimpses of joy at the One True Joy. My heart quickens when our faith is linked to beauty and to the joy beauty brings. I rejoice in and embrace a Lord who is the creator of all that is beautiful in this world and who rejoices over us with dancing and who presents us without fault and with great joy before His Father. World, my Lord is NOT a hater, or party pooper, or pale grey diminisher, or sadist. He is Love itself, the one who turned water to wine to keep the party going, the fresh green shoot that shouts HOPE!, the rescuer and healer of all who in their hurt turn to Him. When the gorgeous beauty of this, our world, pierces me I am struck again with how wrong so many are about who God really is! and I am humbled and grateful to be chosen, to belong to Him, to see Him.

  4. Mark Says:

    So true. It is amazing how people really have it backwards when it comes to God. They see him as a cosmic kill-joy rather than the lover of their souls who brings life in every sense of the term.

  5. ancientcures Says:

    I’m reminded of the old Hymn Turn your eyes upon Jesus. Look full in HIS wonderful face, and the things of the world will look strangely dim, in the Light of HIS Glory and Grace. Well done Mark.


Leave a Reply

