Lewis and Money

March 19, 2012

Lyle Dorsett once told a story about C. S. Lewis in an interview about Lewis. Dr. Dorsett said:

There was one woman that wrote to Lewis and said, ‘I can’t take this money you are going to give me. I just, I just can’t do that.’ And he said, ‘Don’t be silly. You need it, I have it, take it, and thank God for it.’ Her response was, ‘Well, I will and thank you. No wonder God has blessed you with so much money.’ Lewis’ answer was, ‘Be careful what you say there. Nowhere in my New Testament do I see that money is a blessing. Jesus tells us something quite different. He says it’s almost impossible for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven. He talks about the deceit of riches.’ And he said, ‘I need to give this money away, or it will destroy me.’

(HT: Dane Ortlund)

Leave a Reply

