Your Kids Will Be Where You Are Now In 20 Years

March 14, 2012

I woke up this morning thinking about the importance of our legacy. If you still have kids at home, and perhaps even if they are out of the house, in a decade or two your children will be living like you are now. What are you modeling? What’s important? Do you want your children to be active in church, faithful to their spouses, and productive at work? The blueprint you are drawing today might very well set the course for your children’s lives when they are grown. You passively are speaking to them everyday through your behavior. Proverbs 17:25 says, “A foolish son is a grief to his father and bitterness to her who bore him.” So often we contribute to the foolishness of our children because we live foolish lives. I’m always encouraged by 1Timothy 1:5, “I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well.”

Here is  a wonderful, fairly short story about the impact of a Dad, particularly in the area of singing hymns. What’s your legacy going to be? You know the answer to that question by looking at your life today. Here is a quote.

You did a fantastic job as my father and I am so glad I got to be your son. Thank you for taking me to church. But more importantly thank you for going to church and being joyful there. Thank you for singing like you meant every word… You have no idea how that still affects me… I love you dad.

Leave a Reply

