Demi Moore’s Deepest Fear

January 28, 2012

Here’s a reminder from Aaron Zimmerman that our worthiness comes only from God. In this quote Demi articulates her fear:

And I think there is no way to reach your fullest potential if you don’t really find the love of yourself. If I were to answer it just kind of bold-faced, I would say what scares me is that I’m going to ultimately find out at the end of my life that I’m really not lovable, that I’m not worthy of being loved. That there’s something fundamentally wrong with me (emphasis added).

Where does our worthiness come from? Aaron answers:

I, for one, need more than Spirituality. I need the One who while I was dead in my trespasses, made me alive (Ephesians 2:5). I need the One who takes away my unworthiness and grounds me in the Unshakable. I need the Friend of Sinners. What was it that he said? Oh, yes. “Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest” (Jesus in Matthew 11:28).

That’s a message that never gets old. And I hope Amanda and Demi get to hear it.

(And in a totally non-ironic way, pray for Ms. Moore, who just checked into rehab.)

Leave a Reply

