How Do We Grow Spiritually?

December 20, 2011

Elyse Fitzpatrick and Dennis Johnson in “Counsel from the Cross: Connecting Broken People to the Love of Christ” answer this question.

I assume that you are already aware of how powerful the word of the gospel is, but I wonder if any of us realize how desperately we need to hear it repeated. We so often think that once we have believed the message we don’t really need to hear it again. But we couldn’t be more wrong. It is the glorious message of God’s love for us in Christ that engenders the faith and perseverance that will enable us to grow in godliness. It is in the gospel message that we see the glory of God; it shows us the face of Jesus Christ and transforms us.

 

2 Responses to “How Do We Grow Spiritually?”

  1. Tracy Says:

    I’m so grateful for your commitment to repeat the gospel for as much time as God gives you to preach. Just the other day, my brain went toward God’s power and grace in a circumstance instead of my own idea or solution and I thought, “For once, I understand! Mark’s finally getting somewhere after all.” Praise God! I pray He continues to empower you (for my sake!)! I need all the gospel I can get!

  2. Mark Says:

    Hey, Tracy, thanks for the encouragement! I will keep saying the same things until I get called home.


Leave a Reply

