Where Have All the Snarks Gone?

October 26, 2011

I have to admit that I’ve never really been on top of punctuation. Proper comma placement is still enigmatic to me. However, I appreciate properly punctuated papers. My personal strategy to avoid punctuation faux pas is to keep my sentences short. This article explores the future of punctuation given todays trends.

How might punctuation now evolve? The dystopian view is that it will vanish. I find this conceivable, though not likely. But we can see harbingers of such change: editorial austerity with commas, the newsroom preference for the period over all other marks, and the taste for visual crispness.

Leave a Reply

