Kevin DeYoung on Baptism

October 26, 2011

I was baptized as a little baby decades ago, but the promise of God’s grace is no less real to me. I got wet that day (even if my Baptist friends don’t think I got wet enough!). I was washed. My sins were not magically wiped away by the water. But the promise of God’s cleansing signed to me that day is mine through faith. When I confess my sins, God is always faithful to forgive (1 John 1:7–9). Just as surely as the water was sprinkled over my little head (or washed over your whole body as the case may be), so surely have I been made clean by the blood of Christ. That black mark of sixty seconds on cable television (and believe me, that’s not the worst thing I’ve ever done!) has been washed away.

DeYoung, Kevin L.; Jerry Bridges (2010-03-26). The Good News We Almost Forgot: Rediscovering the Gospel in a 16th Century Catechism (p. 128). Moody Publishers. Kindle Edition.

3 Responses to “Kevin DeYoung on Baptism”


  1. Indeed Baptism is a sign & seal of all the covenant promises of God, but even more the sign & seal of the full redemptive Christ, it is in His authority that we are “baptised” in the “name” of the Triune God, (Matt. 28:19 / Eph. 2:18). We see this covenantal & baptismal authority in and thru Jesus Christ in the Book of Acts.

  2. Mark Says:

    I have many areas in my theology that need more thought. The sacraments is one of those areas. That Mt 28 passage is so helpful in that it reminds us of the 3 persons and yet singular name.


    • Amen Mark! Matt. 28:19 is profound! Some liberals attack its validity because it is not mentioned again verbatim in Scripture, but this is simply ad hoc, for in reality the whole NT speaks about the Triune nature, and the Trinity of God!


Leave a Reply

