Destinations

June 30, 2011

A little more information about Ray Miller’s service: it will be Tuesday at 11, at the Veteran’s Cemetery Chapel.

Our new prayer list is up. How important it is for us to be a praying church.

Here’s a little humor at my expense. How do I know the sermon isn’t going well? Believe me, I know.

Here and here you will find a fairly concise article about church music. I think what DeYoung says is valuable. Lately, by God’s grace, we’ve haven’t struggled with worship wars. But the “front” is always just outside the camp so it is important to think about music.

Here’s Piper’s take on the recent NY decision to legalize gay marriage. Here’s his purpose for writing:

My main reason for writing is not to mount a political counter-assault. I don’t think that is the calling of the church as such. My reason for writing is to help the church feel the sorrow of these days. And the magnitude of the assault on God and his image in man.

What is a tragedy:

2 Responses to “Destinations”

  1. Teri Says:

    I enjoyed the “suggestions” on how to survive a boring sermon. Luckily, I’ve never had to sit through a boring sermon, but I took notes in case I ever go to church on vacation and the pastor preaches too long. I feel blessed that Pastor Mark prepares the perfect sermons and never goes too long!

  2. Mark Says:

    Alright, what do you want? What am I missing?


Leave a Reply

