Destinations

June 20, 2011

Bob’s sermon from yesterday is up. Here’s the link. I so appreciate his always encouraging ministry.

Homosexuality is the topic of the day. First, Al Mohler weighs in on whether or not our President is going to endorse same-sex marriage (I know, it’s an oxymoron). Don’t we all think it’s just a matter of time? Here’s a very interesting interview of an ex-gay believer by his still gay friend. Finally, here’s a summary of a sermon about the gospel and homosexuality delivered by Molher at the Desiring God conference several years ago. What he says is valuable for all of us.

Here’s a short post about truths that are essential to change, gospel-driven change.

The Southern Baptist Convention has voted not to endorse the updated NIV. Read about the reasons here. I personally think the proverbial handwriting was on the wall years ago.

Some of you, like me, are hopeless sports fans. As much as I try, I can’t free myself from the sports section of the daily paper. It’s all so silly. Why support one sports franchise over another? Do we like one owner better than another? It’s not like supporting the high school team you attended as a kid. Here’s a cogent video articulating this silliness.

2 Responses to “Destinations”

  1. Brian Says:

    Great piece on being a sports fan. I now have a better understanding of why I’m a Giants fan but it was little help in explaining why you’re a “A’s” fan.

  2. Mark Says:

    It still all seems to me like rooting for Pepsi or Coke or Apple or Microsoft. Who should care that the Athletics “company” has won 9 World Series and that only two other “companies” have won more? Should I feel good about that? I think I’m finally experiencing freedom.


Leave a Reply

