Destinations

June 10, 2011

For many of us, the free ride with Amazon may be nearing an end. Guess we’ll have to go to Oregon more often to shop.

I’ve posted in the past about the issue of feminine beauty. Here’s a piece called About Your Ugly Wife that contributes to the, no doubt, endless conversation.

Pray for Sudan.

This is forgiveness. Maybe all the reasons aren’t exactly right, but this is forgiveness.

I’ve linked to Ann Voscamp’s stuff before. I appreciate these words from her book One Thousand Gifts:

…all these mornings. I wake to the discontent of life in my skin. I wake to self-hatred. To the wrestle to get it all done, the relentless anxiety that I am failing. Always, the failing. I yell at children, fester with bitterness, forget doctor appointments, lose library books, live selfishly, skip prayer, complain, go to bed too late, neglect cleaning the toilets. I live tired. Afraid. Anxious. Weary. Years, I feel it in the veins, the pulsing of ruptured hopes. Would I ever be enough, find enough, do enough? But this morning, I wake wildly wanting to live. Physically feeling it in the veins trembling, the hard pant of the lungs, the seeing it in the steady stars, how much I really want to really live. How I don’t want to die. Is that the message of nightmares and dreams? To live either fully alive…or in empty nothingness?

One Response to “Destinations”

  1. denise Says:

    Been praying for all those mid-eastern countries who are experiencing unrest and takeovers. The terrorist groups who are forcing a lot of the changes that are supposedly good aren’t and so there will be much more terror on the children and all thier people.
    These radicals are influencing the unrest in Greece and Britain. Israel is being targeted for anilation and it will be coming here for sure. This is not being overly fearful but listening to what these terrorist say. Many are involved with our own government.
    My prayer is to be asking God to protect around the Globe. Wake everybody up and see what’s coming.
    God Bless all those little kids


Leave a Reply

