Destinations

December 21, 2012

Well, we had a smattering of snow this morning. It wasn’t enough to build a snowman but it was enough to appreciate the beauty of the landscape as it settled to earth. In this sense, it was probably the perfect “snow storm.”

Barnabas Piper suggest that there is not a lesson in every tragedy. Here is a quote:

There are no answers to such an event, not ones that soothe the soul. The problem is not the guns or the mental illness—it is the human condition. All the theological analysis, no matter how true, offers nothing in the moment to lift the crushed heart.

How are we to think about Westboro Baptist Church?  To me they are an embarrassment. It is tragic that they call themselves a church. Josh Buice grapples with the question as to whether God hates Westboro Baptist Church. Here is a hint of the direction he heads in the piece:

Before Westboro Baptist Church shows up in Connecticut with signs that read “God hates you” – perhaps they should consider the possibility that God hates Westboro Baptist Church.  Before they go and preach for people to repent, perhaps they should practice what they preach … Self righteousness is a powerful trap – and one that entraps many people.

Trevin Wax suggests “5 Ways to Play With Your Kids This Christmas.” For some of us, playing with our kids can be a chore.

Jesus told us to pray to the Father in His name. But can we pray to Jesus? Graham Cole answers the question.

I love this song:

One Response to “Destinations”

  1. phfs9 Says:

    I like to “play” with my spouse at Christmas by hiding one gift for him and he has to follow hints to go and find it.

    I remember when Westboro showed up at the Vet Cemetery here a couple of years ago. I believe it was a Red Bluff soldier who lost his life. I remember how tame I found Westboro and how I had expected far worse behavior from them. Back then, I wondered why the situation was not worse – now I know why.

    I used to live in Denver – our little snow storm today was welcomed and I did enjoy it but compared to Denver snow this was not a snow storm but a fun storm.

    I have already starting closing the books for end year and it is already driving me crazy so this post was a nice break from the end year routine for me.

    Merry Christmas to all and to all….remember the reason for the season!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers

